Project 14

Improvisation on a dominant

This one is strongly based on a motif I’m trying my little parrot to learn (abc-ace… – so far unsuccessfully). It begins with just an insinuation of the chord (a 9th one on the first bar, then just indicating the 7th). In bar 3 it introduces the motif, imitated on the left hand. It gets repeated more frequently until it announces the end (last beat in bar 6). However, instead of the end, there is a move to the grade II of the scale in major (the dominant chord of the dominant, bar 7), to switch quickly back to the original dominant chord (grade V).

I am aware at this point I needed a change or it would become boring (so far, it was not boring for me at least). There’s a small contrast in bars 9-10 (now I realize I should have indicated with words a change of mood, maybe) and then it goes back to the original motif to get to the real end this time.

It is slightly less based on the idea of the left hand as accompaniment and more on counterpoint. I don’t know if this is a mistake or not.

Originally, I was planning to write something much more joyful. However, the effects of the extreme grayness of this Winter seem to be coming up to the surface now. Will I be able to change that for Assignment 5?

So here is my project 14. And just in case anybody wondered, Jorge Otolio (written at the top left of the score) is my pseudonym.

2013-04-13d2

About otolio

Language teacher, songwriter, writer, translator. Student of Music. Spaniard living in the Czech Republic.
This entry was posted in projects and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment