Hlavolam 3.v-13

Sometimes I wonder why I don’t write so many songs nowadays. There are quite a few reasons. Lack of time is one. Related to that is the fact I used to write the lyrics & chords and record them straight away, while now I tend to write the score first (this, obviously, takes more time, even being fluent with a given software). There is a reason of quality: I used to record anything that came to my head, independently or how good or bad it could be. And then there is a matter of originality: if a song sounds to me like another among many by me or hundred thousands by others, I don’t have much motivation to finish it. Should I go back to all those one-two recorded phrases in my mobile device to try to do something out of it? When?

Then here and there a reason appears for some strong inner tension that needs to be relieved. I forget about being liked or needing to sleep or finish my Assignment or correcting my own students’ works (it’s Friday anyway) or eating, I forget about being original, I forget about instrumentation or quality and I write a sketch like the following.

2013-05-03_Yurimu04b_0001

Some bars afterwards, I decided to be reasonable and come back to my Assignment. So this is just the first page of it. The only thing I kept in mind was to avoid, if possible, a perfect cadence, in order to keep the music going (see the Roman numbers). Conceived as a song, I will call it now Section A, continues with A’, then there will be a refrain or Section B, a section A” with the motif variated on the left hand, again the refrain and then end.

I considered this beginning as a possibility for Assignment 5. But then, I have already 4 pages for that purpose somewhere else!

I’ll keep you informed.

About otolio

Language teacher, songwriter, writer, translator. Student of Music. Spaniard living in the Czech Republic.
This entry was posted in side work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment